Lathkill Music Publishers

Four Guitars : Sousa arranged by Gary Spolding

The Liberty Bell by Sousa arranged for four guitars by Gary Spolding

The Liberty Bell by John Philip Sousa arranged for four guitars or guitar orchestra by Gary Spolding.

This military march is the very definition of an earworm! Famous in the USA for being part of presidential inaugurations but most familiar worldwide as the theme tune for the British TV comedy program Monty Python's Flying Circus.

Lasting approx. 4 minutes, the arrangement will suit an ambitious and enthusiastic group of guitarists who have reached grade 2 to 4 standard. Guitars 1 & 4 need competent intermediate players as Guitar 1 has the majority of the melody and Guitar 4 needs string 6 tuned to D. Guitar 2 is the easiest at around ABRSM Grade 2, with all notes in the stave, and Guitar 3 is a little more complex at around Grade 3.

If you work in education, this arrangement has these useful features…
- a very strong 6/8 rhythm
- two types of repeats - 1st and 2nd time bars and a D.S. al Coda
- a key change from G major to C major
- a bass solo

The piece can be played as a quartet with one player per part or expanded into a larger ensemble, perfect for guitar societies or school concerts. Includes permission for up to 4 additional copies of each part to be made, enabling the work to be performed by up to 20 guitarists.

If you like the look of this arrangement then Bizet’s Farandole may also be of interest.

5 page score and separate parts each 2 pages.
Grade 2-4
£7 book
£5 pdf