Lathkill Music Publishers

Four Guitars : Pachelbel arranged by Gary Spolding

Canon in D by Pachelbel arranged for four guitars by Gary Spolding

Pachelbel’s Canon has to be one of the top 10 most famous pieces of classical music ever written. This arrangement for four guitars or guitar orchestra by Gary Spolding provides a clearly laid out, practical and playable edition that enables guitarists to enjoy this wonderful music.

Lasting approximately 7 minutes, the arrangement will suit an ambitious and enthusiastic group of guitarists who have reached grade 1 to 4 standard. Guitars 1, 2 and 3 are all identical except for the necessary truncated endings. The role of Guitar 4 is to play the ground bass throughout the piece. 7 different versions of this are provided to enable a variety of accompaniment styles for when the character of the upper parts change and to challenge more advanced players. However, the basic single-note bass line can also be played throughout allowing players who are little more than absolute beginners to join in.

The piece can be played as a quartet with one player per part or expanded into a larger ensemble, perfect for guitar societies or school concerts. Includes permission for up to 4 additional copies of each part to be made, enabling the work to be performed by up to 20 guitarists.

If you like the look of this arrangement then Bizet’s Habanera from Carmen may also be of interest.

6 page score and separate parts each 3 pages.
Grade 1-4
£7 book
£5 pdf