Lathkill Music Publishers

Four Guitars : Boccherini arranged by Gary Spolding

Minuet from String Quintet Op. 11 No. 5 by Boccherini arranged for four guitars by Gary Spolding

Minuet from String Quintet Op. 11 No. 5 by Luigi Boccherini may not be an immediately recognisable title but the music almost certainly will be. This arrangement for four guitars or guitar orchestra by Gary Spolding may fool both players and audiences into thinking the music was originally written for guitars.

Lasting approximately 4 minutes, the arrangement will suit an ambitious and enthusiastic group of guitarists who have reached grade 2 to 4 standard. For the first section Guitar 1 carries the melody with Guitar 2 accompanying in semiquavers, Guitar 3 in quaver arpeggiated chords and Guitar 4 with a crotchet bass line. In the second section the melody is shared out amongst all parts.

If you work in education, this arrangement has these useful features…
- trills and grace notes for Guitar 1.
- a D.C. al Fine with inner section repeats.
- position playing.
- p i technique for Guitar 2 and and p i m technique for Guitar 3.

The piece can be played as a quartet with one player per part or expanded into a larger ensemble, perfect for guitar societies or school concerts. Includes permission for up to 4 additional copies of each part to be made, enabling the work to be performed by up to 20 guitarists.

If you like the look of this arrangement then Fauré’s Pavane may also be of interest.

3 page score and separate parts each 1 page.
Grade 2-4
£7 book
£5 pdf